General information

General information

Greece covers an area of ​​approximately 131,990 km2 with a population of approximately 10.85 million (2017 estimated figures). It is located in South-Eastern Europe and is a Mediterranean coastal state. Greece\'s immediate neighbor states are Turkey, Bulgaria, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) and Albania.

The state form is a parliamentary republic. The country’s capital is Athens, populated by four million inhabitants and also being the largest city of the country. Other major cities include Thessaloniki, Piraeus, Patras and Heraklion.

Greece is a member of various international organizations: the United Nations, NATO, the OSCE, the OECD and the Council of Europe, and a member-state of the European Union since 1981.

About 20% of the area of ​​Greece is distributed among the 3,054 Greek islands, approximately 115 of which are inhabited. The Greek territory is for the most part very mountainous (around 4/5). However, the country has a very long coastline (more than 13,000 km long) with countless beaches. A mild Mediterranean climate prevails and makes nature thrive: olive trees, pines, cypresses, and various fruit trees dominate the landscape. A variety of plant and animal life and a wealth of medicinal herbs are found in Greek nature.

ferimmo.de

Allgemeine Infos

Allgemeine Infos

Griechenland hat eine Fläche von ca. 131.990 km2 mit einer Bevölkerungszahl von ungefähr 10,85 Mio. Einwohner (geschätzter Wert aus dem Jahr 2017), liegt in Südosteuropa und ist ein Mittelmeeranrainerstaat. Direkte Nachbarn Griechenlands sind die Türkei, Bulgarien, die ehemalige jugoslawische Republik Mazedonien (EJRM) und Albanien.

Die Staatsform ist eine parlamentarische Republik, Hauptstadt ist Athen und mit ungefähr vier Millionen Einwohnern die größte Stadt des Landes; weitere bedeutende Städte sind Thessaloniki, Piräus, Patras und Heraklion.

Griechenland ist Mitglied in verschiedenen internationalen Organisationen: in den Vereinten Nationen, der NATO, der OSZE, der OECD und im Europarat sowie seit 1981 in der Europäischen Union. Rund 20% der Fläche Griechenlands verteilt sich auf die 3.054 griechische Inseln, von denen jedoch ungefähr 115 bewohnt sind. Die griechische Staatsfläche ist zum größten Teil sehr gebirgig (rund 4/5); das Land besitzt aber eine sehr lange Küste (mehr als 13.000 km lang) mit unzähligen Stränden.

Mildes mediterranes Klima herrscht vor und lässt die Natur gut gedeihen: Olivenbäume, Pinien, Zypressen, Aleppokiefern sowie verschiedene Obstbäume dominieren das landschaftliche Bild. Eine vielfältige Pflanzen- und Tierwelt sowie ein Reichtum an Heilkräutern prägen das Bild in der griechischen Natur.